The Air Base

The Air Base

Reading time:

Base Aérienne 105 Évreux-Fauville (BA 105Base aérienne 105 Évreux-Fauville) is a military airfield of the French Air Force (Armée de l’Air et de l’Espace). The airfield is located in the Eure department in Normandy on the territory of three municipalities – Fauville, Gauciel and Huest – about five kilometers east of the town of Évreux.

BA 105Base aérienne 105 Évreux-Fauville was named after Major (Commandant) Jules Louis Viot, a French pilot who was killed during an aerial engagement in French Indochina in 1947.

The air base is home to several different wings and squadrons:

  • 64e escadre de transport
  • L'escadre aérienne de commandement et de conduite projetable
  • Le groupe aérien mixte 56 „Vaucluse“
  • La 62e escadre „Franche-Comté“
  • Escadron électronique aéroporté 1/54 „Dunkerque“